Thoughts and questions

I have been thinking the last few days about all the ways I want to be a better mom. I feel that as the high and busy season at the coffee shop is winding down I am winding down with it – or ahead of it, might be more accurate! It seems that everyday I am either rolling out cinnamon buns, bagging to-go orders, or up to my elbows in dishwater when Ayden wants me most. I am constantly telling him “Not now, wait a minute.” He seems to be walking around fussing more and more and I don’t know if it is because he isn’t getting enough one-on-one time with us or if he is just feeling extra needy.

I want to be the mama who plays games and comes up with creative adventures but it seems that the things that “have to get done” – cafe stuff, laundry, floors – is all we fit in most days. How do I change that?

I have been reading Colossians and there is a verse that stood out to me when I saw it in The Message.

“The lines of purpose in your lives never grow slack, tightly tied as they are to your future in heaven, kept taut by hope.”

I keep thinking about my “lines of purpose”: to love and serve God, to be a faithful and supportive wife, to be a caring and nurturing mama. If these are my goals and my purposes in life, why is it that they get pushed to the bottom of the day’s to-do list? How can I be more purposeful in tying these lines to my “future in heaven”?

Leave a Reply

