Spinach Cheese Enchiladas in Salsa Verde

Yum. That’s all I have to say.

I wasn’t sure about vegetarian enchiladas. All I know is that ground beef is not my favorite during pregnancy and I wanted something more than just bean and cheese enchiladas. Also, those dark leafy greens are “just so good for you” and all that… So I thought I would go ahead and try it!

I have to apologize because there are no pictures. I am even one of those people who will make a recipe based solely on the pictures! But I really wasn’t confident that it was going to be as good as it turned out to be.

A few notes:
I didn’t want the salsa to be too spicy (although Ayden can handle food spicier than I can!) so I added the avocado, but you wouldn’t have to. You also don’t have to roast the bell pepper, I just like the flavor better that way.

The enchiladas are an easy and adaptable recipe. Garlic, in my opinion, is a matter of taste so use as much or as little as you like. Any mushroom will work. I used a mild cheese called panela that is probably similar to a mozzarella and I grated a mild cheddar on top.

Salsa Verde
approx. 3 cups salsa

25-30 tomatillos
1/4 onion
1 small green bell pepper
1-2 serrano chilis
1 ripe avocado
a good bunch of cilantro
salt to taste

Blend serrano, onion, and a handful of tomatillos in blender until well blended. Roast bell pepper over the gas flame or in a hot oven until the skin is crispy, add to blender with the rest of the ingredients and blend to desired consistency.

Spinach Cheese Enchiladas
5-6 burrito size enchiladas

butter or olive oil
3-4 cloves garlic
8-10 mushrooms
a good bunch of fresh spinach (spinach cooks down quite a bit, so use more than you think you’ll need)
cheese of your choice plus more for grating on top
large flour tortillas

Saute garlic in butter or olive oil over medium heat for a few seconds then add the spinach and mushrooms until cooked down – the spinach does not have to get mushy, just wilted.

Preheat oven to 325 F. Spread a spoonful of salsa verde evenly on the bottom of a 9×9 baking dish. Place a generous amount of spinach mixture in the center of the tortilla then top it with sliced or grated cheese. Roll the enchilada up tightly and set seam side down in the prepared dish. Once all the enchiladas are assembled cover them well with salsa verde and top with as much grated cheese as you like. Heat in oven for 25-30 minutes. Top with more salsa and sour cream if desired.

Leave a Reply

