leavin’ on a jet plane

Well, I sent Ben off this morning, bright and early to catch a bus that would take him to Puerto Vallarta where he jumped on a jet plane to fly to San Fransisco. He won’t reach his destination of Port Orford, Oregon until tomorrow sometime. It was sad to see him walking away and I was glad that Ayden didn’t wake up to cry those big, fat, crocodile tears that he always has when his papa leaves. I think the hardest part about saying goodbye was that he wasn’t super thrilled to leave. He is going to be working for his dad for three weeks and we can use the money since things have really slowed down for us here. But, like he pointed out, it’s not the same as leaving to go to Nepal (May 2010) or Haiti (April 2011) – two rather exotic places of adventure.

So it’s just the baby, Ayden, me, and Abuela.

relaxingWe all went together this morning to check out strollers and walk around the weekly market. It was a nice distraction and as we were sitting eating some lunch at the Japanese place I began to realize that this is life in the off season. We are now a part of it.

We moved to the beach last April so we’ve been here for a summer already but it is different now. We ran a business and saved our pesos in preparation for this down time but now that it is beginning we are already feeling the months between now and November when the foreigners come back.

Everyone here deals with the same issue – it’s a tourist town and people come and go. Money comes and goes. Make hay while the sun shines, and all that. So now that town is quieting down we are all trying to find new ways to save and creative ways to make some grocery money. The first creative way involves Ben’s trip Stateside. What will the next way be?

This morning I came across a passage that I have dwelt on in the past and it seems once again it is timely. Isaiah 32:17-20

The fruit of righteousness will be peace, the effect of righteousness will be quietness and confidence forever. My people will live in peaceful dwelling places, in secure homes, in undisturbed places of rest. Though hail flattens the forest and the city is leveled completely, how blessed you will be, sowing your seed by every stream and letting your cattle and donkeys range free.

So as I pick up this verse and ponder it, carrying it around in my pocket, munching on it with my afternoon mug of red raspberry tea, I choose to look past the beautiful picture that is portrayed and try to digest the words that are being used and the truth in each sentence. How can I get this truth inside me?

 

 

I leave you with
a poor shot of my
30 week belly.

Leave a Reply

