A quick and easy dessert and new pets

I think it is safe to say that the weather has changed. It is hot and becoming more humid. My feet feel sticky walking across the floor and not only because of whatever Ayden just spilled in the kitchen. Needless to say, the iced coffee is back! I am enjoying a nice glass right now. I know, gasp, two cups of coffee in one day? Can that be good for the baby? I think a little added caffeine will do this hyperactive child no harm!

In addition to coffee, my sweet tooth is here with a vengeance! I was being so good and staying away from all the sugary sweets that are so readily available but now it is getting more and more difficult! So, in my search for healthy alternatives to satisfy my craving I introduce this new recipe. New to me, anyway…

Chocolate Banana Avocado Pudding

Sounds amazing, right? Well, don’t skip it until you’ve tried it, you might be pleasantly surprised. Ayden sure was!

Ingredients for 2 servings:
Place all ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until creamy. Scrape into a serving dish or dishes and put in the fridge until nice and cold.

1 ripe avocado
1/2 frozen banana – to make blending easier, peal and cut your banana into 1 inch pieces before freezing
1/4-1/3 cup milk – depending on how you like the consistency
1/2 Tbls coconut oil
1/2 tsp vanilla
honey or maple syrup to taste – if you buy honey with the comb in it this is a good place to use it! I put the chunk of comb in the blender with everything else and it didn’t leave any waxy pieces behind and it’s, oh so good for you!

The variations on this are endless: add shredded coconut, chocolate pieces, berries in place of banana, nuts, etc. Yum!

In other news, one day Mom and I were driving around town, bored and not looking forward to going back to an empty house so on a rather spur of the moment whim we stopped at the pet store and bought 4 baby chicks for Ayden.

It is fun to watch him take care of them. This includes not only feeding and watering but whacking with sticks, showering with the hose, chasing around the porch, and picking up by various little chick body parts. Ok, so I do most of the taking care of… I’m amazed they are all still alive!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “A quick and easy dessert and new pets

Leave a Reply

