There are days..

..when I feel that I just might not make it until bed time. (Especially these days when there is no guarantee of when Willow will decide to finally drop off to sleep!) But then something amazing happens, like a miracle right in front of my eyes begging to be recognized, and the day is redeemed.

Yesterday was one of those days. It was the second day in a row that Willow decided she didn’t need to nap. Oh, she catnapped really well, for all of 30 minutes at a time and only if she had constant motion. But she didn’t do her normal hour plus stretches. I didn’t realize how tiring it is to try to entertain two kids all day! Finally, I gave up on the lunch I had been trying to pull together all day and settled for a terribly boring pasta. I finished up the dishes and wiped down the counters, feeling more than ready to crawl into my comfy bed right then and there. Ben suggested we head to the beach and because I could think of nothing better to do while holding a baby I agreed to go. I sat on a log grumpily staring out at the waves and watching Ayden play with his monster truck in the sand. People walked by smiling at the beautiful, white babies and their mother and I tried to pretend I didn’t see them. I was not in the frame of mind to hold a conversation with a humming bird let alone a human being.

Ayden started walking away down the beach following Ben and Alex who were drifting east with the pull of the waves. I collected the monster truck and my water bottle and followed. A friend of Ayden’s showed up and they started playing in the sand and finally my coldness started to melt as I watched Ayden’s laughing face. Willow woke up and started grinning and Ben started showing off his best body surfing moves while I tried to get a good picture. By the time the sun had set I was feeling more positive. Then the miracle occurred.

As we were walking back in the dusky afterglow of the sunset we literally stumbled onto three little sea turtles crawling from their nest under the sand. There they were! Digging up through the sand getting their very first glimpse of the sun, the first breath of fresh sea air. We drew enough attention to them that others arrived and decided the baby turtles needed help getting out. Soon a hole a foot deep and 35 or 50 turtles were paddling their way through the sand to the ocean. I’m not convinced that they needed us to interfere but that is what they got and as we set them in the wet sand with the vicious waves crashing and threatening just a few feet away I thought to myself, “Is this really my life?”

And I thought it was going to be ‘just another day’… I am so blessed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “There are days..

Leave a Reply

