new year

2012 went by so fast and so full! A new baby, a new brother-in-law, a new house, a new roaster… So much to be thankful for. I can only imagine what 2013 might hold!

I am in the process of charting out this new year. I like to have a vision, a list of goals, a verse or passage to focus on. I don’t always meet my goals and I often lose sight of my vision but I find it helpful to organize myself just a little bit before starting something new.

Since we opened the cafe I have been sorely missing my quiet times. It is definitely a goal to find a time of solace, a time of quiet. A place where I can put away the day’s thoughts and troubles and bring out the creative thoughts, the prayers, the listening. Ah, the listening. I have been trying to listen in the midst of all the daily activity but, man, it’s not easy.

I think I’ve finally decided that my word for 2013 is purpose.

  • I need to purpose in my heart to prioritize things that are getting away from me. Or rather, those things I am letting slip by.
  • I want to purpose to be the woman that I want to be, the woman I have been created to be. Wife, Mama, Friend. Jesus follower.
  • I must purpose to keep the star shining brightly before me, keep my eyes on that star that announced the most amazing, glorious thing in history. Emmanuel, God with us.

winter 006

I give you thanks, O LORD, with my whole heart; before the gods I sing your praise; I bow down toward your holy temple and give thanks to your name for your steadfast love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word. On the day I called, you answered me, my strength of soul you increased. . . The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me; your steadfast love, O LORD, endures forever. Do not forsake the work of your hands. ~ Psalm 138, ESV

This lady over here is helping me tremendously and she can probably encourage your heart as well.

This is the meal we’ve been enjoying repeatedly!

This is the song that has been playing everyday and now even into the new year.

I am building my reading list for 2013. Any suggestions?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~

Leave a Reply

