busy and bright

The days are flying by and I am happy. I am counting blessings in the every day moments and finding sunshine in the cloudy times.

The cafe is hoppin’ and we are trying to keep up with it! When we opened the cafe I never imagined we would ever fill all the seats – now we’ve added more seating and turn over tables during the 5 hours of operation! Muffins, scones, cinnamon buns, cakes, brownies, rolls, loaves, granola, yogurt, fruit platters, soups, omelets, salads…. it is all being produced and sent out the door at an alarming speed. People ask where I find the time and I don’t really know… I’m not sure how all this food is coming together!

I know that I am staying up after the kids fall asleep most nights prepping for the next day and that the alarm or a drowsy hubby wakes me up at 5 o’clock most mornings and I stumble into the kitchen and put on water to warm for the yeast breads. I have never enjoyed early mornings as much as I do now (although I will admit that there are mornings when my dark scowl makes the dog walk away with his tail between his legs). The darkness and stars, the just-lightness, the steam off my mug of coffee, the lists and recipes laid out in front of me on the table: it all holds together and holds me in some kind of tight, safe, comfortable place of life.

I am praying and learning and trying with Ayden constant. He is dropping words more and more and it’s our challenge to understand them! Vamonos, andale, banana, no, not there, right here… He loves tractors and watching youtube videos of farming machinery in action is a favorite pastime – one that I try to keep in check! He gets angry and doesn’t know what to do with it.. we’re working on that one, explaining that it’s ok to feel angry and when he feels that way it’s good to go be alone for a bit and calm down. He is growing up so fast.

I am holding and laughing and hushing Willow as she takes her new steps everyday. She is just learning her first, unsteady crawling moves – most often ending in a face plant on the tile floor. She maneuvered herself into a sitting position yesterday all on her own and grinned a big, still toothless grin of triumph at us. She is making more noises and they sound very much like the noises Ayden makes when playing with her, mostly grunts and growls. She took her last nap in our bed yesterday when she woke up and crawled right off the edge. She hit the tiles with her forehead but, thankfully, the quick application of some Eden Salve and homeopathic arnica tablets and she doesn’t look too bad this morning, just a little discolored spot.

We’ll see how long this season holds out for us: both the tourist season for the cafe and this busy and bright season of our lives.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “busy and bright

  1. this post left me longing to come hang out with you for awhile…even at 5 am making baked goods:) they all sound so delicious! I love your photos. I can’t get over how beautiful you are. purely and truely beautiful. xoxo

  2. Yes, it isn’t long now and I will be there!! I can’t wait! Make sure that espresso machine isn’t put away for the summer, I really need a Taza Negra Late!! Love you so much!

Leave a Reply

