Things I want to say…

…I wear my mama’s green sweater every morning that it’s cool enough – it’s the one my dad bought for her because it reminded him of one she had when they met.

…Willow is trying to beat my sister with her first steps. Gabriela walked at 9 months and Willow, at 8.5, is pulling herself up and holding on with one hand only.

…Ben roasts and brews an amazing cup of coffee. He roasted 32 kilos last Monday and sold it all on Tuesday. I’m so proud of him!

…no, I’m sorry, ma’am, you can’t have the quesadilla without the tortilla – you would end up with a pile of goat cheese and sun dried tomatoes on your plate.

…5 AM seems much earlier than it did a couple weeks ago.

…we have some of the best friends around. So many thanks to all of you – you know who you are. 😉

…I’m sorry, did you just say you want 20 kilos of coffee to go?

…the addition of yogurt to most any quick bread is a good idea.

…no, ma’am, I’m sorry, it is not possible to make a vanilla-coconut latte “not too sweet”

…”blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied” I read it again. “blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied” I take the promise deep down and try to bury it in the marrow of these brittle bones. My God is not deaf or blind as my unbelief would say.

…I’m sorry, I didn’t hear you right, I thought you said you wanted 39.5 pounds of coffee by tomorrow morning! Ha ha! Wait – you really do?

…in the last two weeks I have known the fear of shots in the streets and bodies in the gutter, drug houses down the block and threats of child abduction, curfews and an unknown enemy. But I have also powerfully known the truth of my Refuge and my Fortress in Psalm 91. Truth and faithfulness trump fear every time.

…the raspberries have been perfect, plump, and balanced between sweet and tart – that makes me miss my dad.

…some highlights of February: a bonfire and tacos on the beach with our little family,  watching the superbowl snuggled up on the couch with my hubby, dinner and dancing with the kids, hosting a bluegrass house concert, skype dates with voices from the dark continent.

…happy, happy birthday to my guitar strumming, song singing, globe trotting, soccer/volleyball/rugby playing, books studying, Spirit listening, heart guarding, handsome, gentle, and kind little brother. I am so proud of you.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Things I want to say…

  1. I Loved it all till I got to the part of the shots, abductions, etc…
    Keep leaning on the only one who can protect, strengthen and give joy in the midst of difficult times! I love you so much! The pictures are so great!! Only 6 weeks and I will be there! Yeah!

    1. Yes, it’s been an interesting few weeks but I am learning again to trust and I’m also learning more about my neighbors and our community, which is good. Counting down the days to see you!

    1. Marieke, I have tried responding to this note 4 times! All I want to say is: YES! I would love to sit down and share a coffee and a long conversation. Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

