Psalm 18.19

He brought me out into a spacious place,

He rescued me because He delighted in me.

This is the verse I am living these days. I am content. I am at peace. I love my husband, my son, and my daughter. I enjoy my work at the cafe. I am excited about the next season at La Taza Negra and all the ideas and plans we have to make it better than the last. I am looking forward with a bright smile to the summer.

I don’t feel like I have yet to arrive. I am not waiting for the next great thing to happen. I am not struggling against my enemies, my doubts, my fears – which is not to say that they are absent, only that I am living in the truth that God has rescued me. I won’t lie and say that I am happy all the time. I have bad attitudes and I get easily frustrated. But I am content in my skin and my home.

I get up in the morning and drink a big mug of strong coffee. I spend time playing and laughing with my kids. I soak, ferment, and simmer wholesome foods and drinks. I walk in the sunshine and stare at the ocean. And all the while the soundtrack of His love keeps playing:

I have brought you out into a spacious place,

I have rescued you because I delight in you.

arbor

Leave a Reply

