do not be anxious

“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life. . . look at the birds of the air. . . consider the lilies of the field. . . O you of little faith. . .”

That is me. Alexa of little faith. I don’t know how to avoid the anxious worry that creeps up on me in the twilight, in the dark, blood moon night, in the early morning surprise phone calls and late afternoon child’s fall. And I say to the silence: I don’t need another worry! And the silence has a voice. And He says: your heavenly Father knows. Knows. I breathe deep, trying to untangle the stress in my neck and the chewed finger nails and the sharp words already spoken.

“. . .your heavenly Father knows. . . but seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”

Christ came. He lived, died, rose again and is adding all these things to us. All what things? All the things we could never reach on our own: peace, life, joy, rest. The kingdom is so many things and it is also these things. To celebrate Easter Sunday Lili and I made a feast of baked Mediterranean feta, cranberry-apple-pecan stuffed pork loin, potatoes with fresh herbs, green salad with walnut vinaigrette, orange-lemon cake with whipped cream. We made it just for us; we didn’t have anyone over to share it with us. At the busiest moment when we weren’t sure if the pork was done and the potatoes were getting over done and the children were getting desperate we asked ourselves, why did we do this? Why would we go to so much trouble just for ourselves? We could have warmed up leftovers or ran out for tacos. But my dad reminded me, we do it because it’s good. Because we are celebrating life! We have been blessed with so much, so much! And it’s good to celebrate. It’s good to enjoy a good God. I am reminded of our Easter dinner and all that went into making it special, a celebration, and I think it must be a part of “all these things” that are being added to us. God didn’t only redeem us from a lifetime and an eternity apart from Him, He gave and is giving “all these things”! Peace, life, joy, rest. . . The hardest part for me is to learn how to sit down and partake of this feast of God’s goodness.

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.”

2 thoughts on “do not be anxious

  1. You have hit on one of the themes for tomorrow’s sermon. But that is not unusual, though. Learning to trust and not worry is a basic tenet of the faith. The disciples certainly seemed to worry a lot. I am glad we need not worry. And, like you, it is something I need to work on through the Spirit.

    1. Yes, it seems like something we must work on our whole lives! But it is comforting and reassuring that there are so many promises to encourage us on our way!

Leave a Reply

