quiet, hot summer

We are here, I promise. Our days right now are quiet and hot. The last couple weeks:

My nephew, Adoniah Jude, was born on August 2nd – four days after we got home. It was difficult for me to miss the birth and I sat on Skype with Lili in Indiana and my dad in Bolivia until I finally slept, waking up to check on updates every hour or so throughout the night. I am so proud of my sister and am amazed at her strength and endurance through an extremely long and intense birth. I just saw the little guy today for the first time. He is precious.

baby and mum

August 6th was Ayden’s fourth birthday! 4? How did that happen? It seems like just yesterday I was holding him in my arms, an infant needing protection and a quiet, safe place. Now he is a four year old riding his new bike down the road, nailing bits of wood together, becoming always a little bit bolder in the ocean waves, making me a cup of coffee in the morning. He is sensitive and gentle and deeply moved by others’ suffering. He recently drew my attention to an elderly woman in a wheelchair who only has one leg. She was being pushed door to door by her young granddaughter to ask for what help would be given them. Ayden’s initial response was a desire to help this woman. I am thankful to God for giving Ayden, my little flame, a fire of compassion at such a young age.  We spent his day with friends at Tenacatita beach.

aug 2014 074 aug 2014 082 august in melaque 027

Over the weekend the kids started showing signs of chickenpox so we have been keeping a low profile – which is not an easy thing now that Abuela, Tio Tomas, and the Philips family of 3 are here! We want to keep Ayden and Willow away from baby Adoniah and from the many children and adults in our neighborhood who have never had the virus. They don’t understand it and at times it can be difficult to say “no”. Their cases are quite mild, so far, and they are not in any discomfort though it seems to be worse during the night; they have not been sleeping well.

august in melaque 034 august in melaque 028

I am reading a lot and trying to get recipes and menus organized so that when the season is in full swing we have fewer runs to the local taco stand or pub and more homemade, nourishing meals. I have been holding on to many verses from Psalm 68 as I watch and read about the conflicts in Gaza and Israel, Iraq, Syria, Ukraine. It can easily become overwhelming and depressing… “Blessed be the Lord, who daily bears us up; God is our salvation.”

I just finished reading “I Shall Not Hate” by Izzeldin Abuelaish and would recommend it to anyone interested in understanding a bit more the conflict between Israel and Gaza. It was extremely eye opening to me and has caused me to re-examine my own quickness to judge situations and people.

Ben is working away on fixing up espresso machines and grinders, doing projects on the roaster and the house in general, and basically being the rock of our home. He is always helpful with dishes, picking up toys, running errands, entertaining the children, letting my sleep in, improving our home and our business, encouraging us and always learning and growing himself. I am so blessed!

One thought on “quiet, hot summer

  1. I thought of you on Sunday. We shared our favorite Psalms. The message in them all was: “Do not worry; God is in charge.” Tat reminded me of your talk a few summers ago about Elijah. He had witnessed God’s power through a series of miracles. But when Jezebel turned her anger on him, he fled. Too often we can live in God’s power and then allow our own frailty to betray us.

    There is a reason Ayden is as compassionate as he is. You and Ben are two of God’s best witnesses. Both Ayden and Willow cannot help but be molded by that love.

Leave a Reply

